Divider

Blog Tour: Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim (Guest Post + Giveaway!)

Posted July 7, 2019 by Kait in Book Tours, Giveaways, Guest Post / 1 Comment

Blog Tour: Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim (Guest Post + Giveaway!)

Happy Sunday and welcome to my stop on the Spin the Dawn blog tour!! On today’s post you can: find out which of her characters Elizabeth Lim most identifies with, follow the rest of the tour, and enter a giveaway for a print copy of Spin the Dawn!!!

Blog Tour: Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim (Guest Post + Giveaway!)Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim
Series: The Blood of Stars #1
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers on July 9, 2019
Genres: YA, Fantasy
Pages: 416
Goodreads

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she'll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There's just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia's task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

Which of your characters do you most identify with and why?

I relate most to Maia Tamarin. At the beginning of the book, she wants nothing more than to become recognized for her skill at tailoring, but no one will ever give her a chance because she’s a girl. While I was studying to become a music composer, a similar incident happened to me (several times!), and Maia’s grit and determination to prove them wrong stems from my experiences. But she’s also very loyal and close to her family, which have always been important to me.

Elizabeth Lim grew up on a hearty staple of fairy tales, myths, and songs. Her passion for storytelling began around age 10, when she started writing fanfics for Sailor Moon, Sweet Valley, and Star Wars, and posted them online to discover, “Wow, people actually read my stuff. And that’s kinda cool!” But after one of her teachers told her she had “too much voice” in her essays, Elizabeth took a break from creative writing to focus on not flunking English. 

Over the years, Elizabeth became a film and video game composer, and even went so far as to get a doctorate in music composition. But she always missed writing, and she turned to penning stories when she needed a breather from grad school. One day, she decided to write and finish a novel — for kicks, at first, then things became serious — and she hasn’t looked back since.

Elizabeth loves classic film scores, books with a good romance, food (she currently has a soft spot for arepas and Ethiopian food), the color turquoise, overcast skies, English muffins, cycling, and baking. She grew up in Northern California, with a brief stint in Tokyo, Japan, but now lives in New York City with her husband and their daughter.

Elizabeth graduated from Harvard College with a degree in music and a secondary in East Asian Studies, and completed her graduate degrees at The Juilliard School.

She is represented by Gina Maccoby of the Gina Maccoby Literary Agency

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

(US Only!)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Blog Tour: Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim (Guest Post + Giveaway!)

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.