Divider

Can’t Wait Wednesday | December 25, 2019

Posted December 25, 2019 by Kait in Bookish Memes / 1 Comment

Happy Wednesday! Originally created by Jill at Breaking The Spine, Waiting on Wednesday was adapted to Can’t Wait Wednesday by Tressa at Wishful Endings. It is a weekly meme that spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating!

This book publishes on February 18th and I’m SO EXCITED to read it! And now without any further ado, this week’s Can’t Wait Wednesday book is…

Can’t Wait Wednesday | December 25, 2019The Feminist Agenda of Jemima Kincaid by Kate Hattemer
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on February 18, 2020
Genres: YA, Contemporary
Pages: 304
Goodreads

A novel about friendship, feminism, and the knotty complications of tradition and privilege, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Stephanie Perkins.
Jemima Kincaid is a feminist, and she thinks you should be one too. Her private school is laden with problematic traditions, but the worst of all is prom. The guys have all the agency; the girls have to wait around for promposals (she's speaking heteronormatively because only the hetero kids even go). In Jemima's (very opionated) opinion, it's positively medieval.
Then Jemima is named to Senior Triumvirate, alongside superstar athlete Andy and popular, manicured Gennifer, and the three must organize prom. Inspired by her feminist ideals and her desire to make a mark on the school, Jemima proposes a new structure. They'll do a Last Chance Dance: every student privately submits a list of crushes to a website that pairs them with any mutual matches.
Meanwhile, Jemima finds herself embroiled in a secret romance that she craves and hates all at once. Her best friend, Jiyoon, has found romance of her own, but Jemima starts to suspect something else has caused the sudden rift between them. And is the new prom system really enough to extinguish the school's raging dumpster fire of toxic masculinity?
Filled with Kate Hattemer's signature banter, this is a fast-paced and thoughtful tale about the nostalgia of senior year, the muddle of modern relationships, and how to fight the patriarchy when you just might be part of the patriarchy yourself.

This sounds like such an amazing book and I can’t wait to read it! What books are you impatient to read? Let me know in the comments and have a splendiferous week!

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Can’t Wait Wednesday | December 25, 2019

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.