Divider

Blog Tour: The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow by Emma Steinkellner (Interview + Giveaway!)

Posted June 29, 2021 by Kait in Book Tours, Giveaways, Interviews / 3 Comments

Blog Tour: The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow by Emma Steinkellner (Interview + Giveaway!)

Happy Tuesday and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for THE OKAY WITCH AND THE HUNGRY SHADOW! I’m so excited because today I have an interview with Emma Steinkellner to share with you! This book is truly amazing and I’m so excited to for you to find out more about it, PLUS enter for a chance to win a print copy!

Blog Tour: The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow by Emma Steinkellner (Interview + Giveaway!)The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow by Emma Steinkellner
Series: The Okay Witch #2
Published on July 6, 2021 by Aladdin
Genres: Fantasy, Graphic Novels, Middle Grade
Pages: 256
Add to Goodreads
Author Links: Website, Twitter, Goodreads, Amazon, Instagram

In this hilarious and heartwarming sequel to the bestselling and critically acclaimed graphic novel, The Okay Witch, half-witch Moth Hush uses magic to boost her confidence with disastrous results—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Molly Ostertag!
Moth Hush is starting to settle into her newfound witch heritage and powers, but life at school continues to be rough. Even her best friend, Charlie, doesn’t entirely understand what it’s like for her to always be the one who gets mocked, and things only get worse when Moth’s mom starts dating one of the dorkiest teachers in the school! Then Moth gets hold of a mysterious charm that can unleash another version of herself—one who is confident, cool, and extremely popular. What could possibly go wrong?

What would you do if you spent the day with Moth? Where would you go to eat, hang out, relax, etc.?

First off, I think I’ve got to spend the day with the whole Hush family. Moth, Cal, Mr. Laszlo, Sarah. I have a lot of questions for all of them. I would definitely want to do a little shopping at Keepers and look for some secondhand treasures. Then maybe we could binge a little of Laszlo’s favorite sitcom, Can You Believe I Go Steady with a Witch? And we all share a big thing of popcorn, Sarah’s favorite snack.

If Moth were to hang out with characters from other books, who would they be and why?

Moth would have a blast magic-ing herself back in time and trying on gowns with Prince Sebastian and Frances from Jen Wang’s The Prince and the Dressmaker. I think she’d also get along with someone thoughtful and creative like Jordan from Jerry Craft’s New Kid. Maybe the D-tent boys from Louis Sachar’s Holes. Definitely Wise Child from Monica Furlong’s Wise Child, they could trade magic tips. 

If there was one fictional place you could travel to for a day, where would it be and why?

Sesame Street. No brainer. That’s all I wanted when I was three and nothing has really changed my mind.

If you buried a time capsule with three items inside, what three items would you choose and why?

My journal so I could look back on what I did and thought about every day. Some clothes that I don’t really like anymore (by the time I dig them up, I’ll appreciate them much more because I haven’t seen them in so long). And some photos of my friends and family, because they make me happy.

What was your favorite bit of research you ended up not using?

I’m going to get this a little wrong, because I kind of forget the details. When I went to Salem, MA, there was a historic house that used to belong to an influential man in the town (an…alderman or something?) in the 17th century. There were a bunch of nails hammered in a pattern into the front door and a tour guide said it was because iron was very expensive at the time, so putting that many nails in the door was a status symbol to show off his wealth. I thought that was a very silly detail, but I just didn’t use it anywhere.

What is your favorite quote, scene, or moment from The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow?

I love when Moth first activates the nyklum and incites a musical moment in the Founder’s Bluff Middle School cafeteria. It’s a sort of salute to those big cafeteria song-and-dance numbers in the teen movies I watched as a kid (The Other Me, High School Musical, Fame, Bring It On: All or Nothing). As a kid, I always hoped that would happen in real life. It never did, so I put it in a book! It was lots of fun to figure out the moves Moth would do and the way she would get all these other kids involved.

Week One

6/28/2021 A Dream Within A Dream Excerpt
6/28/2021 Rajiv’s Reviews Review
6/29/2021 Kait Plus Books Interview
6/29/2021 Two Points of Interest Review
6/30/2021 cindysloveofbooks Review
6/30/2021 laura’s bookish corner  Review
7/1/2021 Hurn Publications Excerpt
7/1/2021 celiamcmahonreads Review
7/2/2021 @drewsim12 Review
7/2/2021 The Momma Spot Review

Week Two

7/5/2021 brittreadsalattebooks Review
7/5/2021 Lady Hawkeye Excerpt
7/6/2021 Fictitiouswonderland Review
7/6/2021 Pandora’s Books Review
7/7/2021 hauntedbybooks Review
7/7/2021 Curlygrannylovestoread  IG Spotlight
7/8/2021 Confessions of a YA Reader  Review
7/8/2021 Nerdophiles  Review
7/9/2021 Eli to the nth Review
7/9/2021 Simply Daniel Radcliffe Review

About Emma Steinkellner

Emma Steinkellner is an illustrator, writer, and cartoonist living in Los Angeles, California. She is a graduate of Stanford University and the illustrator of the Eisner-nominated comic Quince. She is the author and illustrator of The Okay Witch graphic novel series.

Enter here to win a print copy of The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow by Emma Steinkellner!

(US Only)

What do you think about The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow? Have you added it to your tbr yet? Let me know in the comments and have a splendiferous day!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Blog Tour: The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow by Emma Steinkellner (Interview + Giveaway!)

  1. danielle hammelef

    I can’t wait to read this! I love the premise as it sounds both hilarious and heartfelt.

Leave a Reply to John Smith Cancel reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.