Divider

Blog Tour: The Edge of Summer by Erica George (Interview!)

Posted June 14, 2022 by Kait in Book Tours, Interviews / 2 Comments

Blog Tour: The Edge of Summer by Erica George (Interview!)

Happy Tuesday and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for THE EDGE OF SUMMER! I’m so excited because today I have an interview with Erica George to share with you! This book is truly amazing and I’m so excited to for you to find out more about it!

Blog Tour: The Edge of Summer by Erica George (Interview!)The Edge of Summer by Erica George
Published on June 14, 2022 by Poppy
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, YA
Pages: 320
Add to Goodreads
Author Links: Website, Twitter, Goodreads, Instagram

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson will be swept away by this big-hearted novel about one girl navigating first loss and first love during her summer on Cape Cod.
Saving the whales has been Coriander Cabot and her best friend Ella’s dream since elementary school. But when tragedy strikes, Cor is left to complete the list of things they wanted to accomplish before college alone, including a marine biology internship on Cape Cod.
Cor's summer of healing and new beginnings turns complicated when she meets Mannix, a local lifeguard who completely takes her breath away. But she knows whatever she has with Mannix might not last, and that her focus should be on rescuing the humpback whales from entanglement. As the tide changes, Cor finds herself distracted and struggling with her priorities.
Can she follow her heart and keep her promise to the whales and her best friend?

What would you do if you spent the day with Cor? Where would you go to eat, hang out, relax, etc.?

Such a good question! First, we would get up early and see a sunrise at Fort Hill in Eastham, then grab a coffee at Hole in One. We’d probably go on a short hike through the Nauset Marsh Trail, and end up spending the rest of the morning at the beach–White Crest in Wellfleet, because clearly that’s Cor’s favorite. We’d spend the afternoon antiquing down Route 6A and then head to P-town for a delicious waterfront dinner. 

If Cor were to hang out with other fictional characters, who would they be and why?

Almost immediately, the little mermaid came to mind. She’s got the whole ocean theme, red-haired protagonist going on!

If there was one fictional place you could travel to for a day, where would it be and why?

Oh, for sure Avonlea on Prince Edward Island in Canada. I feel like so much of my childhood was spent with Anne Shirley, or watching Road to Avonlea. It’s like a fictional second home.

If you buried a time capsule with three items inside, what three items would you choose and why?

First, I would bury a ticket stub to an amazing concert. I got to see James Taylor perform a few years ago in Camden, NJ, and it was such an amazing show. Then a few pictures of the people I love, friends and family, just as they are right now. And finally, a favorite Christmas ornament. I collect them, and Christmas is my favorite holiday.

What was your favorite bit of research you ended up not using?

I did a lot of research on the current boom in the seal population around Cape Cod and how it’s attracting great white sharks. While some people might view this as scary, the fact that great whites have returned is a sign of a healthy ecosystem. In the words of Cor, “It’s their ocean.”

What is your favorite quote, scene, or moment from The Edge of Summer?

I think one of my favorite scenes is when Justin, one of the naturalists that Cor works with, gets sick while they’re out running a whale watch. Cor has to take over, narrating the trip for all of the people on the boat, and at first, she’s terrified she’s going to screw up, but once she gets the hang of it, she realizes how easy it is to talk about the whales of Cape Cod. It’s this moment where she can showcase her knowledge about whales, and she’s able to reclaim that little piece of herself she thought she lost a while ago.

About Erica George

Erica George is a writer of young adult fiction. She is a graduate of The College of New Jersey with degrees in both English and education, and is currently an MFA student at the Vermont College of Fine Arts. She resides in scenic northern New Jersey, but spends her summers soaking up the salty sea air on Cape Cod.
Many themes in Erica’s writing rotate around environmental activism and helping young people find their voice. When she’s not writing, you can find her exploring river towns, whale watching, or engrossed in quality British drama with her dog at her side.

What do you think about The Edge of Summer? Have you added it to your tbr yet? Let me know in the comments and have a splendiferous day!

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Blog Tour: The Edge of Summer by Erica George (Interview!)

  1. Danielle Hammelef

    I read and loved this book! Happy book birthday! Going to post my review on Amazon right now.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.