Divider

Blog Tour: Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau (Excerpt + Giveaway!)

Posted March 31, 2021 by Kait in Book Tours, Excerpt, Giveaways / 1 Comment

Blog Tour: Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau (Excerpt + Giveaway!)

Happy Wednesday and welcome to my stop on the KISSES AND CROISSANTS blog tour! I’m so excited because today I have an excerpt of the book to share with you! This book is truly amazing and I’m so so excited to for you to find out more about it, PLUS enter for a chance to win a print copy!

Blog Tour: Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau (Excerpt + Giveaway!)Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau
Published by Delacorte Press on April 6, 2021
Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 320
Goodreads

As sweet as a macaron from Laduree, with writing as crisp as a freshly baked baguette, this romantic novel set in Paris about an American ballerina and a charming French boy is parfait for fans of American Royals and Netflix’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.
Seventeen-year-old Mia, an American girl at an elite summer ballet program, has six weeks to achieve her dreams: to snag an audition with one of the world’s best ballet companies. But there’s more to Paris than ballet—especially when a charming French boy, Louis, wants to be her tour guide—and the pair discover the city has a few mysteries up its sleeve.
In the vein of romances like Love and Gelato, this is the perfect summer adventure for anyone looking to get swept away in the City of Love.

“So it’s about him,” Audrey says. 

“Yes,” I finally admit. “His name is Louis. You know, I really didn’t come to Paris to fall in love.” Audrey lets out a laugh.  

“I hope so! But then what?” 

I shrug. “We were kind of together, and I know it was wrong, but I swear that’s not how I got Odile.” I stop to study her, but Audrey doesn’t react. 

“Yeah,” she says. “You got Odile because you deserved Odile. Everyone can see that.”  

“Oh,” I say. Would it really have been that simple all along? “Well, anyway, now we’re not together anymore because of me, and I …”  

“And you want to be again?” “No,” I say firmly. But of course I don’t mean it. “It wouldn’t make sense.” 

Audrey stops in her tracks. She gestures for me to come closer so we’re out of the way of the pedestrian traffic on the bridge. Next to us, a young woman in a green dress and a colorful scarf wrapped around her long dark hair sings Édith Piaf’s “La vie en rose.”  

“Mia, you’re going to do whatever your heart tells you to. That’s who you are.” 

“But what about the show? What about the ABT director? I shouldn’t be thinking about anything else.  

“Audrey sighs. “What about the regrets you will have?”  

I know what my heart tells me; it’s been blaring the same name on repeat since the very first day.  

“You would never take the risk to get distracted by a boy,” I say. Audrey chuckles.  

“Obviously. But I still would like to fall in love. When I’m a dancer at the Bolshoi Ballet or wherever I end up, I don’t plan on coming home to an empty apartment every day, and only have my pointe shoes for company.”  

I look around me, all the way down the river, as I listen to the lyrics the singer is crooning. “Il est entré dans mon cœur une part de bonheur, dont jeconnais la cause.” Its meaning rings loud and clear in my heart. A piece of happiness has entered my heart, and I know the cause of it. L.O.U.I.S. I came to the most beautiful city in the world to focus on my career, and instead I found exactly what Paris promises: romance. I worked hard, and I got cast as Odile. I’ve rehearsed as much as I could, and I’ll continue to do so until the moment I enter the stage. So what’s the worst that can happen to me now? Regrets, I guess. I want to be with Louis. Even if it’s just for a few days, and even if we never see each other again after that. I’m not sure I’ll forgive myself if I don’t give us a chance. 

Excerpted with permission from Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau, Copyright Delacorte Press, 2021.

Enter here to win a print copy of KISSES AND CROISSANTS by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau!

(Open Internationally!)

About Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau

Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau is a bilingual French author of young adult fiction and nonfiction. Her books have been translated into seven languages. Kisses and Croissants (Delacorte Press, 2021) is her U.S. debut. After graduating university in France, she moved to Amsterdam to begin a career in advertising. She then spent a few years in Melbourne before settling in New York City, where she lives with her Australian husband and their American cat.

What do you think about Kisses and Croissants? Have you added it to your tbr yet? Let me know in the comments and have a splendiferous day!

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Blog Tour: Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau (Excerpt + Giveaway!)

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.