Divider

Blog Tour: It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill (Interview + Giveaway!)

Posted March 10, 2021 by Kait in Book Tours, Giveaways, Interviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour: It's Kind of a Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill (Interview + Giveaway!)

Happy Wednesday and welcome to my stop on the IT’S KIND OF A CHEESY LOVE STORY blog tour! I’m so excited because today I have an interview with Lauren Morrill to share with you! This book is truly amazing and I’m so so excited to for you to find out more about it, PLUS enter for a chance to win a print copy!

Divider

Blog Tour: It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill (Interview + Giveaway!)It's Kind of a Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr) on March 9, 2021
Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 352
Goodreads

A delicious love story with all the toppings, Lauren Morrill's It's Kind of a Cheesy Love Story is a contemporary YA rom-com about love, friendship, and pizza, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han.
After her mother gave birth to her in the bathroom of a local pizzeria, Beck Brix been given the dubious privilege of having minor fame, free pizza for life, and a guaranteed job when she turns sixteen—a job she unfortunately can’t afford to turn down.
Stuck with her geeky co-workers instead of taking Instagram-ready shots with her wealthy, photogenic friends, Beck finally realizes what she’s spent her whole life trying to hide: that Hot ‘n Crusty is a part of her.
Then disaster strikes the beloved pizza parlor that’s become like home, and Beck realizes that it takes losing something to really know what it’s worth.

Divider

If Beck were to hang out with characters from other books, who would they be and why?

I think Beck would really get along with Lara Jean from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. They’d bake and talk about boys, and I think Lara Jean could instill a little more confidence into Beck. She’d be a good mentor and a good friend.

Would you rather be a superhero or a supervillain? And what would your powers and name be?

Superhero. The world has enough villains right now. I’d like to right some wrongs. I think the ability to stop time would be useful, because a) time to solve problems, b) time to read all the books on my TBR list and c) extra time when I’m deadline and behind!

If you were trapped on a tropical island and you could choose 3 books to take with you, which 3 would you choose?

I’m cheating and counting Megan McCafferty’s Jessica Darling Series (starting with Sloppy Firsts) as one. I love that series so hard, and it’s absolutely rereadable (she’s even releasing new versions with updated covers and I can’t wait!). Then I’d take Stephanie Perkins’ Anna/Lola/Isla trilogy (am I stretching the rules here? Yes.). And finally, I’d take Amy Peohler’s memoir Yes, Please! Amy is like the cool big sister I wish I had, and her writing is full of the kind of encouragement I think I’d need to survive trapped on a tropical island.

What was your favorite bit of research you ended up not using?

I originally had a bit about whether it’s necessary to suck the grease up off the top of a piece of pizza with a napkin, so my husband and I did a little science experiment to figure out just what that grease is. He thought it was mostly water and residual tomato, and thus soaking it up didn’t change the actual fat content of the pizza. He was wrong! It’s definitely grease.

What is your favorite quote, scene, or moment from It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story?

So many! But probably the end of Beck’s first shift, when they play The Table Game. That’s when each staff member brings the weirdest thing they found on a table over the course of the night, they vote, and whoever wins gets to assign closing duties to everyone else. I just love the rapid-fire banter and the jokes.

Divider

LAUREN MORRILL grew up in Maryville, Tennessee, where she was a short-term Girl Scout, a (not so) proud member of the marching band, and a trouble-making editor for the school newspaper. She graduated from Indiana University with a major in history and a minor in rock & roll, and now lives in Macon, GA with her husband and sons.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | GoodreadsTumblr

Divider

Divider

Enter here for a chance to win a print copy of IT’S KIND OF A CHEESY LOVE STORY by Lauren Morrill!

(US/Canada Only!!!)

Divider

What do you think about It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story? Have you added it to your tbr yet? Let me know in the comments and have a splendiferous day!

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Blog Tour: It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill (Interview + Giveaway!)

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.