Divider

First Line(s) Friday | February 5, 2021

Posted February 5, 2021 by Kait in Bookish Memes, First Line Friday / 1 Comment

Happy Friday! Today I am participating in First Line Friday, hosted by Hoarding Books, AND First Lines Friday, hosted by Wandering Words!

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

“I study the app post like it’s a Renaissance painting,

dissecting and analyzing each detail before tapping

the button that will send it out to the world.”

Anyone have any guesses on what book this is? I’ll give you a few clues…

Last chance to guess!

Today’s book is…

First Line(s) Friday | February 5, 2021Follow Your Arrow by Jessica Verdi
Published by Scholastic Press on March 2, 2021
Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance, LGBTQIA+
Pages: 320
Goodreads

For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is a riveting and irresistible take on love, life, and identity -- both online and off.
CeCe Ross is kind of a big deal. She and her girlfriend, Silvie, are social media influencers with zillions of fans and followers, known for their cute outfits and being #relationshipgoals.
So when Silvie breaks up with her, CeCe is devastated. She's lost her first love, and now she can't help but wonder if she'll lose her followers as well.
Things get even messier when CeCe meets Josh, a new boy in town who is very much Not Online. CeCe isn't surprised to be falling for a guy; she's always known she's bi. And Josh is sweet and smart and has excellent taste in donuts... but he has no idea that CeCe is internet-famous. And CeCe sort of wants to keep it that way.
But when CeCe's secrets catch up to her, she finds herself in the middle of an online storm, where she'll have to confront the blurriness of public vs. private life, and figure out what it really means to speak her truth.

“I study the app post like it’s a Renaissance painting, dissecting and analyzing each detail before tapping the button that will send it out to the world.”

I’ve been reading Follow Your Arrow by Jessica Verdi for an upcoming blog tour, and OH MY STARS you guys I LOVE THIS BOOK! It’s timely and genuine and wonderful, and if you’ve ever even thought about reading a Becky Albertalli or Marisa Kanter or Emma Mills book, you need to pick this up as soon as you possibly can and start reading it!!!

Do you participate in either of these memes? Let me know if you do and link your posts in the comments so I can visit! And don’t forget to have a splendiferous week!

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “First Line(s) Friday | February 5, 2021

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.